Election Aftermath: The Day After….

Barack Obama 44th President of the United States

So, in case you have been living under a rock for the past few months, the Presidential Election between Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama is now over. I think we all can breathe a sigh of relief and can go back to some level of normalcy. 

Gone are the supporters calling your house in hopes of urging you to get out there and vote. Away with the thousands of emails from your favorite political party seeking your vote to help drive the baddies away from Washington, D.C. 

I am glad that the election is now over. I am glad that the President still retained his job. Hopefully it will give him a chance to try to make more headway than he did in his first term. I think the people need something to believe in again. Especially, since the job market has been less than stellar. But like Pres. Obama stated in his victory speech four years ago, change can only happen if we all do our share and help him. However, along the way I think the message got lost and everything became “how is he gonna help me?” 

Picture taken at 3:30 in the afternoon.

The day after the election, a snow storm hits the tri-state area. I don’t know for sure if this a sign of the apocalypse, but I find this to be rather amusing. I definitely have to bring out my winter gear. Brrrr.

I for one can’t wait until it get warm again. Unfortunately, I have to wait until next year. 😦

LOL. Now that I completely went on a tangent, back to the election. I must admit that I had a bad feeling…I had this ominous feeling over me the entire day. I felt that Romney was going to win. I felt that he was going to win because of all the negativity that was thrown during the campaign. 

I mean, this man had a lot of Americans believing in him. He said some things that they wanted to hear. They felt that the President let them down in so many ways. The economy, health care, gay marriage, the death of Osama Bin Laden, and the troop withdrawal. These were just some of the things that had bothered the American people for a while. Now, I am not knocking anyone who voted for Romney or the President. I admit that I voted for the President after debating about it for most of the day. Then again, I don’t think I could deal with making the decision not to vote and then having Mitt Romney winning the presidency. 

Believe it or not when I was younger I dreaded the concept of voting. To me it was just a ploy to force you into jury duty. But then I remembered in school and all of those history classes. People who died so they can obtain the right to vote. Some people don’t care because they don’t trust politicians, and they are welcome to feel any way they choose. Then again, some of fail to realize the bigger picture. We have rights for a reason. Why not take advantage of it from time to time? 

Moreover, I am just elated that the elections are over. Now, we all can get back to our lives and hopefully live a peaceful coexistence. 

Leave a Reply

