Quest To Getting Back On My Horse #22: The Call

It was Thursday night I received a call from someone that I hadn’t heard from in seven years. My favorite uncle. My uncle Stokes (a nickname) called me! I was so shocked to hear from him because I always asked my grandmother how he was doing or gave him a birthday shout out, but I never got the opportunity to talk to him. It has been seven long years. We haven’t heard from each other since the death of my first cousin. He was my uncle’s first born.

His death really hit my uncle really hard. It is still a painful for him because I heard him choking up over the phone when talking about his son. My uncle is cool guy. He is such a contrast to my mother who is more reserved and he is more street than anything else.

Well, we talked about what I was doing with myself and I told him that I was looking for work. He even asked me questions. I felt like I was in an interrogation room on ‘Law & Order.’ He kept saying that he remembered when he used to change my diapers, so it was hard for him to picture me as a grown woman who was dating a guy for as long as I have. I think that was a compliment.

I had informed him that I was still living at home and that I was looking to get a job so I can get my own place.

“But what do you really want to do?” He asked.

I wanted to be an attorney. But I later confessed that the feeling had gone away. My passion is writing. I enjoy it so much, but procrastination has led me to not continue my works.

My uncle told me that if writing is what I really wanted to do then do it. I mean, he isn’t the first person to tell me this and probably won’t be the last, but it really meant a lot to me to hear him say to me “Go for it.”

I stopped pushing myself when it really mattered. Nowadays, I have been stepping up. I had a job interview on Wednesday. It went really well, but with these temp agencies…you never know how things are going to go.

Uncle Stokes had told me that when he was growing up that he didn’t have anyone to turn to. That was what my mother told me as well. He was a knucklehead and didn’t do good in school. I didn’t even know that he graduated from the same high school as I did. He wished that he had done better. So he instilled in his kids and now in me to strive for the best. To not settle for less.

I don’t know if I should say that the call saved my life, but I will say that it helped me put myself back in the right direction as far as what I want to do and where I want to be.

Thank you Uncle Stokes!

2 thoughts on “Quest To Getting Back On My Horse #22: The Call

  1. Sometimes we all need that push from someone we don’t see everyday…it helps put things in perspective. I agree with Uncle stokes pursue your writing because you should always do what you have passion for, it’s really important and life is way too short.

    Like

    • I totally agree. I just needed a swift kick in the pants to get me going. The only thing that bothers me is getting it together. I have so much stuff and have no access to it. Most of it, I have to redo it. Nevertheless, life is too short and I feel like I’ve just begun to live. (A little too dramatic? I know. But that’s how I feel.) Thanks a bunch for commenting. ♥

      Like

Leave a Reply

