Red Bull Thre3Style Competition in NYC

Photo0452Hi guys. Happy Monday. *grown* I know, I don’t like Mondays, but this time I come with a present. I present to you the Red Bull Thre3Style DJ Competition. On January 31st, 2013 was the Red Bull Thre3Style competition qualifier. It was held at a place I never even heard of before, but I will give them a shout out here. The ‘(le) Poission Rouge’ is a lounge/club in NYC. If you are ever in town or just want to drop in, you can check out their website for any future events.

I attended the DJ battle with a friend of mine named Melanie. Melanie has a knack for finding anything and everything free that’s in NYC, so when she invited me to go with her, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity. I must admit that I was so out of my element it wasn’t even funny. I am not big on the club scene. I can’t even tell you how much a standard drink costs. But there’s one thing I do know and that is music. So, here I was one part curious and one part getting ready to shake my thing on the floor. I couldn’t resist.

Anyway, a here’s a little background on the competition: The competition consists of the 5 best djs in the area. They come to battle for a chance to win $5,000 and trip to Philly to battle in the Thre3style there. (The event in Philly was held earlier this month.) The competitors were DP One, Austin Millz, Esquire, Zeke, Obey City. Each DJ had a 15-minute set and was judged on the following: track selection, creativity, mixing skills, stage presence and crowd reaction.  In addition, they have to play a minimum of 3 genres. Anything goes – from house anthems to old school hip hop to Top 40 remixes. [The portion written in bold was sampled from the Facebook Red Bull Thre3Style event page] After the warm up finished his set, Obey City took the stage. Let’s just say that Melanie and I as well as the crowd wasn’t too thrilled with him and his performance. After a dismal set, Austin Millz was second but sound issues were to plague Austin for the entire night forcing him to only perform a sub par 5 minute set. One of the judges who is a DJ himself got on stage and yelled at the sound crew for letting Millz perform on busted equipment. But this writer, feels that regardless if his situation, Millz’s set wasn’t enough to win me over at all. Esquire….in one word….GOOD. It this point in the show it seemed like it was going to be him and DP One jocking for the number #1 spot. That was until @DJZeke appeared on stage.

He walked on the stage gave us a little sample of what he could do to let us know he was ready. Zeke played classic after classic. For someone who seemed like the crowd was against him, he turned that sonvabitch around and had everyone eating out of the palm of his hand.

The crowd gave back to him just as much as he was putting out. I must say DJ Zeke was the only one who had me dancing from start to finish. He accomplished something that the other four where unable to do. I find that with the others, a person could dance for a little while and then stop and sway to the music or go to just bopping your head a bit. And that’s not good. I like to keep moving. At the end of his set, I was soaked with sweat. Needless to say, Zeke won the battle and got $5000 for his effort. The Red Bull Thre3Style was an experience.

I enjoyed it very much and would attend another battle. I suggest that if you guys enjoy music just as much as I do, you should attend one of these events. If you can get passed the potential marijuana smoke and the endless alcoholic beverage spill then you are set.

Leave a Reply

