Children Woes: Living With Your Parents After College

images-2

So, before I begin I would like to say that this is not about parent bashing or anything deemed offensive. This is just my point of view about how I view most parents in today’s society.

Now, with that being said I would like to say that I do love my parents, but I have found that living with them after my college years is one of the most frustrating things that I have ever done.

I want to make myself clear on this point, it wasn’t my intent to live with them after I graduated college back in 2006, but like most graduates I found myself with a degree and no job. So there wasn’t really much in the way of me moving out.

Fast forward a few months later, I worked at a Family Law firm, where I was making ends meet. At least until March 2010, and that’s when things went down hill.

To explain more in detail, I come from a West Indian family, so the concept of being out of job for a significant amount of time is frowned upon. I found myself struggling with coming to terms of losing my job and battling my mother over certain choices that I was making.

I am an only child, so anyone who knows what its like to be one can understand the downside to being an only child. Sometimes you get blamed for things that really weren’t your fault and so on. But I had the curse of being an only female child in a West Indian home. Which meant having a curfew even though I was old enough to vote, drive a car, buy alcohol and smoke cigarettes. But my mother, at least I felt that she was treating me like a child. I was heading in my late twenties and desperately trying to get on my own two feet and all I could feel was the pressure about me being a grown woman and living off of her.

As a child, I couldn’t understand why she thought that when all I wanted to do was be on my own and experience life.

Then I left and moved in with my father. He is the more laid back out of the two. At first everything was relatively okay. But then I started feeling like he really didn’t want me there and only humored me, because I helped him when he needed it. Things with us became awkward when he brought some strange woman back to the house a few weeks ago.

He had history with her, and some of the things he had mentioned to me about her were not good, so I couldn’t understand why he would want to subject himself to someone who had so much negativity around her. So I felt like I was the third wheel and wanted to leave.

After talking with my mother, I had discovered that my father complained about me being there and I was more or less cramping his style. I felt low. He never expressed his feelings to me at all, about me staying there for a year and a half.

It was because of his cowardice that made me realize that I was the fool and needed to get myself together, before I ended up kicked out. Before you guys say that I’m old enough to live on my own…I totally agree with you, I didn’t ask for me to fall on hard times. I admit that I made mistakes in the past that caused me my job, but I am more than capable of doing what needs to be done to make a life for myself, without the help of my parents.

Living with a parent can be difficult, especially if there is no communication. Both parties think they are right about everything and at times never see eye to eye, but life goes on.

I realized that I don’t have to see eye to eye with them, but I do respect them for the things that they have taught me throughout my 31 years on this planet. Things aren’t always easy and if you work hard, it will pay off.

So, parents aren’t so bad after all. They just get on your nerves, but we love them and we love them and that’s what really matters.

Leave a Reply

