123 – Dining On A Budget

Image

Let me start by asking you a few questions: do you love to eat? Do you enjoy a taste of a good burger? Do you love food that is affordable?

Well, if you answered ‘yes’ to all three of those questions then I have the perfect place for you. 123 Burger Shot Beer is a nice restaurant/bar on 10th Avenue in New York City. On March 9th, I went there for the first time with a couple of my friends.

My friend Mel had been telling about this place for quite some time and suggested that we go when had some free time. Since, these days I seem to have nothing but free time, we made plans to go. I must admit at first I didn’t understand the concept of this restaurant. I mean, in New York City where the heck can you find a burger for $1?! The concept sounds so unreal. However, at this spot on 10th Avenue, such a concept does exist.

While I was attempting to get over my shock over a burger for a buck, Mel and I met up with our friend Jerome and his friend Gwen at the bar. I mean what a way to celebrate Daylight Savings time like nobody’s business by standing in a crowded food establishment on a Saturday night.

Unfortunately, we had to wait a while for a table, so in the mean time the four of us made small talk about how Mel and Jerome where like growing up together. Eventually, we got our tables and ordered. I was on a tight budget with only 6 bucks to my name, so I didn’t want to go crazy ordering something that I coudn’t afford. Go figure.

I ordered a couple of sliders and a $2 Panty Dropper shot. Mel pretty much had the same order. However, I can’t recall what Jerome and Gwen had but I do remember seeing several shots on their side of the table. 😉

The atmosphere of 123 is the typical bar/restaurant. A lot of people and a lot of noise. But there was one thing that caught y attention while I was there. There was wheel of some sorts. I don’t know what exactly it is for, but the people at the next table spun it and seemed disappointed.

Now the food, is cheap. But the burgers are very small. They are a quarter size of a White Castle burger. However, depending on the amount consumed, one can become full.

A slider consists of sirloin beef, cheese, sauteed onions and pickles (?) Condiments include ketchup, bbq, honey mustard, sweet and sour, just to name a few.

The Panty Dropper was a new drink for me. I don’t typically drink, only on occasion, but the shot burned a bit but went away rather quickly. Which meant it wasn’t that strong, but tolerable.

Overall, we had fun and enjoyed ourselves. We even took a picture to honor our time there.

So, if you live in New York or visiting from out of town, I suggest you try 123 Burger Shot Beer. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

