What To Write About?

Okay. So I began a new job program about two weeks ago and much to my dismay, I received a writing assignment. My teacher told the class that we can write about anything.

Personally, I wold have killed to have something like this steadily in high school. But without a set topic, there is plenty of room to do what I want. However, this has left me with the worst case of writer’s block. I have no idea what to write my assignment on.

I narrowed it down to two topics: the death penalty and Obamacare. But I felt that the former was too broad a topic to write a decent paper on. The assignment is due May 9th and I haven’t even put pen to paper or fingers to keys yet.

So what am I to do?

You know, as a writer/aspiring author I haven’t even written anything in a long time. My existing writer’s block has put a cramp in what I would like to do. Now that I have a deadline, I still am confused as to write about. In addition, finding a topic that interests me.

When I was younger, they used to say just write the first thing that comes to mind and let it flow. But now, I find myself overthinking it. And nothing happens. Ugh. Its so frustrating sometimes. Although, it may be frustrating I have an undying will to see my projects to the end. So, giving up is not an option. Especially, when the deadline is right round the corner. I can’t afford to not do the assignment.

So in short, I will try to bunker down this week and write my paper on a topic that I care about.

Until we meet again. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What To Write About?

Leave a Reply

