Confessions of a Junk food Diva

For some time now, I have been contemplating writing a post about my losing weight. As the title says, these are my confessions.

I have been a lover of junk food for as long as I can remember. My love for chips, cookies and pastries have caused me to add on roughly 90 pounds over the past few years. At 31, I am at my heaviest (which I know because my clothes don’t fit anymore) and I seem to be getting bigger.

One major issue I have is my ability to stop eating junk food. When I am usually depressed or too lazy to make dinner, my mind gravitates towards junk food. Now, don’t get me wrong I do not binge eat at all. But it doesn’t change the fact that I have a problem with eating.

Nowadays I seldom eat a meal, but instead buy junk food. I think I tell myself that it is more convenient than to cook dinner. However, I know this is not healthy for me. Most days I don’t feel hungry and in some cases have gone to bed without eating anything.

Another issue I discovered was the lack of exercise. I walk a lot, but I do not workout in a gym or at home. But then I started working out about two months ago at the local community center. But then when the center closed for two weeks, I got lazy and never worked out during my time off. I found myself back in my old routine, gorging on junk food.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t want to lose weight, it is my lack of willpower to do so that is holding me back from doing what needs to be done.

I feel ashamed that I gave up on myself the way I did. But when faced with some hardships, one sometimes lose their way. And that is exactly what happened to me.

Now, it is time to get myself back on track and fight this demon from within. I know that I can defeat this addiction, if I just try. So wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

