Quest to Getting Back On My Horse #30: Tutoring the Youth

Several weeks ago, I began my part-time job working at a middle school where I tutor 6 graders in reading. I admit that I was apprehensive at first, questioning everything I did and said.

Tutoring these 8 kids have been a wonderful and trying experience. Like most of us, they have their good days and bad days. These kids are special in their own right. All have different personalities that engulf the room once they enter the room.

I know that I am supposed to be the instructor, but I have learned so much from them. Each has a story that may parallel to mine in some cases. What I have learned so far, is to listen to them. They have feelings that may be overlooked by others. And I think the big part of being a tutor is to always make sure you listen to the needs of the students. I have realized that if they do not trust you, it is very difficult to get through to them.

My students are bright, and have the ability to do the work that is required of them, but it is up to the educator to make the experience fun.

As my quest progresses I have had some ups and downs with them, but I haven’t given up hope. I really enjoy my time with them and learning so much from them, I just hope they can learn from me.

Until next time.

3 thoughts on “Quest to Getting Back On My Horse #30: Tutoring the Youth

Leave a Reply

