It Finally Happened!

Q: Have you ever woken up one morning and felt completely unmotivated?

You know that you have things that you have to do, but just find yourself like “yeah, I’ll get around to it.” But you never do. At least not when your supposed to.

Well that was me yesterday. I had a meeting with an acquaintance in the morning which ended up happening in the afternoon. When I arrived to the meeting, I was met with a blast from the past.

I saw my acquaintance talking to a gentleman I had dealings with years ago. He was in the medical field, but became enamoured with my writing. Mr. Luke (not his real name) is a tall man, from Barbados but schooled in England. So he talks with an accent, which isn’t quite Bajan but not quite British.

Mr. Luke like I said before is in the medical field, but he decided to become a novelist. To this day, I am not sure if his decision to become a novelist was because of me, but I am glad that he is still pushing forward with his work.

We hugged and he then proceeded to tell our mutual acquaintance that I was brilliant writer and not to let me fool her into thinking otherwise.

I half smiled because I feel uncomfortable when someone praises my work. I can imagine being a celebrity and someone walking up to you praising you for your work. I don’t think you ever get used to it.

Anyway, Mr. Luke goes on to ask me about my writing and I told him that I had gotten lazy. I honestly didn’t want to go into it too much because I hadn’t spoken to him in person in years and the last time we spoke I was working with him on the screenplay for his book and co writing the novel until, our creative differences got in the way.

I did admit, however, that I had started writing a sequel before completely the first novel. In addition, I am now thinking about working on the prequel.

He told me that it was natural to start another book before you finish the first one. Is that true, guys? Am I crazy for doing so?

After my meeting was over, I found myself sitting in front of the computer.

And then it happened…I began writing my novel again! (Okay it was actually the prequel, but it was still awesome.) It felt like the old me was back after a 8 to 10 year hiatus.

I felt that same burst of energy I felt when I first began writing this novel back in 2001/2002. As much It felt great to be writing this book again, I realized that I found myself overthinking. I wasn’t sure what to say, but when I did it felt like the old me. I was rusty, however, I think with time and patience I can get to where I want to be. And it also helps to have an awesome support system. Which brings me to my biggest supporters.

Even back then my biggest supporter of it was my guy. And my Professor Schaffer who loved it enough to say that he wanted me to publish it.

I guess I do owe Mr. Luke some credit as well because if I didn’t see him I probably would have never thought to begin writing again.

So I want to say thank you and it feels great to be getting the chance to do something I love.

Until Next Time

Leave a Reply

