IDI Weekly Roundup #9: Fun Times at the A Healthy U Conference

Hi and welcome to another installment in of the IDI Weekly Roundup. This week I attended the A Healthy U Conference in New York City. One of the co-hosts is a dear friend of mine. This conference was about making changes in your life.

What I mean by changes is allowing yourself to take ownership of your life. For me, it wasn’t just about eating right and working out. It was about realizing that I need to change how I was living my life.

I spent so much time being mad at the world that I wasn’t taking responsibility for my actions. I was reminded that a healthier mind is just as important as having a healthier body. This conference was what I needed. But I will get more into that later.

This was the first conference, so I know that there was a lot of anxiety going into making this conference successful. Speaking of successful, the conference had a wonderful turnout. It had a wonderful guest panelists that answered various questions from how to keep your mind and body connected to what exercises that are useful for someone who is just started working out.

I think the founders (I will be posting their blog information later) were spot on. The event brought women from all different races and ages. There was a sense of unity that I hadn’t felt in some time, especially from women.

But when have a group of people all trying to obtain the same goals, it can be really overwhelming. I realized a long time ago that I was making the wrong choices for myself in terms of eating the wrong foods and not exercising. Now don’t get me wrong, I away had the goal to lose weight, but I was never motivated enough to do it.

But after I went to this conference, something inside me changed. After siting through the two groups of panelists, I went to free yoga lesson. Rebecca, our instructor, was such a nice person. She was very patient with us. Especially, with me who had no clue what I was doing. I hadn’t really done yoga since it was part of my aerobics class back in college. And trust me that was a long time ago.

Despite it being years since I really worked out, I enjoyed every minute of it. With my muscles feeling a little achy, I felt like I was on top of the world. And that is a great feeling.

The lesson lasted for about a thirty minutes or so. I wanted to do more. But couldn’t. After the lesson I asked Rebecca if there was a beginners class. She told me that there was a class but it would be at 2pm the following Saturday. (I forgot to sign up.)

After our workout, we were treated by a lunch from Panera Bread. We conversed some more until it was time to leave. I received my swag bag and left shortly thereafter.

This was a really great experience for me because it gave me a chance to see things that I needed to change in my life. Eating healthy and exercising is the right way to go. But most importantly you need to get your mind in the right place.

For more information:
Twitter: @ahealthyucon, @LosingInTheCity
Blog:

Leave a Reply

