IDI Weekly Roundup #13: The QUMS Carnival

Hey guys,

Welcome to another week of the IDI Weekly Roundup. It’s Friday and I am looking forward to the weekend. I hope you are too. 🙂

This week as I had mentioned in my previous post there was a carnival at the school. Queens United Middle School with the help of the MS ExTRA program hosted the event to raise money for Homeless Awareness. The proceeds were given to a charity of the students’ choice. It was a fun day despite the sun bearing down on us, (I was in the shade for most of the day, lol). There was free throw games, a pie eating contest, tug of war, face painting, drawing (chalk art).

I was in charge of the drawing portion. Students paid two tokens to draw whatever they wanted as long it fit the school’s policy (of course, a couple of them chose to write obscene words after I was called away to attend an event. But I suppose that’s just kids being kids.h

It was a great experience for me because I got the opportunity to interact with students that I hadn’t had the chance to talk to all year. I’m glad that the students and the staff had fun, especially since it was for a good cause. I can’t wait to do this again.

Leave a Reply

