IDI Weekly Roundup #17: Summer Camp Begins!

Hello everyone,

Welcome to another IDI Weekly Roundup! I have exciting news…Summer camp has begun. This week was only a 3-day work week but it was so much fun meeting the kids. After finding that the camp’s location was moved to another school, it was great to finally meet the kids. Immediately I noticed differences between my guided reading students and my summer camp kids.

Ethically they are different, but they are also different socially. However, all in all they are still kids and they find their enjoyment in the most interesting things.

The first three days were spent with the students designing the room using a Survivor theme. Some of the kids never heard of the show, so I explained it to them. One of them thought that the contestants kill each other. But I reminded him that that was far from the truth. I suppose in his mind it was cool to be on a stranded island and try to kill one another for survival. So my students designed the room. (Below are pictures of the students artwork.)

I had fun and I think the kids had fun. This week were still working out the kinks in the programming but hope to get the ball rolling with the activities that they will be participating in. I can’t wait!!!!

In all my excitement, I forgot to mention Fourth of July!!! I didn’t get the chance to see any fireworks, but I hope to see them next year. 😦

I hope everyone has a happy and safe weekend!

5 girls in the camp constructed this tree out of brown construction paper.
5 girls in the camp constructed this tree out of brown construction paper.
The final product of the tree. These kids are talented!
The final product of the tree. These kids are talented!
Students drew a jungle on the board. Check out the coconut in the middle.
Students drew a jungle on the board. Check out the coconut in the middle.
The final product of the jungle. Awesome.
The final product of the jungle. Awesome.
A flower one of the students gave me on Thursday. It's so pretty.
A flower one of the students gave me on Thursday. It’s so pretty.
~Until We Meet Again

Leave a Reply

