IDI Roundup #21: The End of Summer Camp

Hi guys,

I know it has been a couple of weeks since the last roundup. I have been away from I Define I and turned my focus to writing and wrapping up my time as Youth Counselor. 

Summer camp concluded last Friday with a luau. During the course of the day, faculty and campers signed each other’s shirts. The luau went incredibly well, especially since we were pressed for time. But I think my co-teacher and I managed to pull my it off. I owe her my gratitude because without her I would have been lost. 

Since I had returned to work, I have felt like I was lost. Classes that I was so supposed to take the lead in I ended up becoming the assistant. I wasn’t bothered by it, but it did leave me with a sense of feeling useless. But you what, it happens. I still enjoyed my time working with the kids. 

It was because of my time working with the kids, I got to attend my first ever Mets game. Now, everyone who knows me that I am NOT a Mets fan at all. But the game was really good. I will post the pictures in the gallery later on this week. It is very different watching a game live as opposed to watching it on television. For instance, the Mets players have intro music that plays every time they are at bat. I thought that was funny. Overall, I wouldn’t mind attending a game again. 

As a Youth Counselor, I got to do so much as opposed to tutoring. With tutoring it is just that one straight line and with being a Youth Counselor there are a multitude of things you can do. You can make chants and help the children with projects that they are working on. 

Summer camp was a great experience for me. I feel sad that it ended, but all these must come to an end. I just hope that I am able to do it again next summer. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

