Meeting Sharon G. Flake, A Voice of Inspiration

Sharon G. Flake, author of The Skin I’m In

Two months ago, I was attending a four-day training for my job. At the time, I thought it was just another run of the mill trainings. You know the types. The endless discussions on how to approach this, how to do that, and then you split up into groups to try to implement the same practices.

Well, it was the first day that of training that left me rather inspired. One of our guest speakers was none other than Sharon G. Flake, author of The Skin I’m In. It was even more of a coincidence, because my students and I read her book earlier in the school year.

Ms. Flake, took to the stage and talked about what inspired her to write Skin. It gave her pride to write about a young black girl, who was a victim of bullying. With the help of Ms. Saunders, who tries to show what a beautiful young lady she is both inside and out.

After the training session, a co-worker and I had a chance to talk to Ms. Flake. We caught up with her during lunch and had an interesting discussion over pizza. She talked about her upcoming book, the Unstoppable Octobia May (which is sent to be released this month). When asked what do I do? I informed her that I am also a writer, but hadn’t published my works yet, primarily out of fear. In addition, I felt that I was too old. Sharon Flake told me that she didn’t publish her first book until she was 42. Once I heard that, it gave me the confidence I needed to continue writing and hopefully publish my works in the near future.

It was so refreshing to hear from an author about her journey writing her first book. She talked about the letters she received from students all over the country, who informed her how The Skin I’m In changed their lives. It must be gratifying to know that you helped changed someone’s life.

That was a wonderful experience. I walked away thinking two things:
1)Anything is possible if you put your mind to it.
2)I better go home and start writing

Leave a Reply

