To Friend or Unfriend?

Have you ever found yourself scrolling through social media and see a friend’s status and thought, “Why the hell am I friends with you?” After shaking your head at the status and possible responses that follow, you find yourself itchy to go through your settings and blocking your friend or even unfriending them. Before you do, think about it for a few minutes.

I will be the first to tell you that I have been on both sides of the blocking/unfriending spectrum. It feels rather stupid to be honest, but here’s why.

I won’t deny that there are people on social media who are really annoying. Yes! However, since every person’s tolerance for annoyance is different, I will get to that in a minute.

Since, social media has taken the world under it’s proverbial arm, folks who use (some, not all) tend to go too far. We live in a world where posts about fighting, sex, and drug use have become the norm. Most times I find that these things go unnoticed by the social media gods, who claim to be making sure that sites have the best security in the world. (Yeah, right.)

My issue with this lack of notice, comes from the knowledge that you can post about something that can be bothering you at the time, (depending on what it is) someone gets offended and unfriends you or worse (hits the dreaded block button). But as soon as someone shares a twerk video, no one barely bats an eye.

I’m sure you probably gave up on reading this, but before you do…think about it.

Now, don’t get me wrong. The social media gods aren’t the only ones to blame here. I think that a lot of people use these sites as a way to sort of get back people. How many times have you sent or received a friend request from someone you really weren’t friends with in high school? You become friends and the person posts something that either contradicts your personal views or interests and maybe you just don’t talk to them. You are quick to unfriend them.

I personally am considered to be weird by my peers, but you know what I am okay with that. I don’t listen to same music as most do or even dress like them. I am a lover of Japanese animation and I do and say weird things sometimes. So when  I post something that is important to me or is an extension of myself, how am I considered unfriend-worthy?  Why do people use social media as a popularity contest? It seems like a lot of individuals use these sites to promote their disdain for those who are not as cool or interesting as them. Not to mention, there are those who use it to bully others, just because they thought they could.

For me,  I have many friends that have different points of view then myself and have different interests, but I still respect them and I do not judge them based on their opinions or sexual preference. I find that the whole unfriending and blocking fad is so childish and unnecessary (excluding in cases where someone is being stalked).  If you don’t want to have dealings with someone, just don’t add them. It’s so sad that things have become like that this.

On the other hand, it can’t be all that bad. There are really good people out there. You just have to find them.

Leave a Reply

