Quest to Getting Back on My Horse #33: Starting Over…Again?

Hi guys,

Wow! I really can’t believe it! The Quest posts are back!

It has been a really long time since I’ve written these posts. But I am here now to share some great news with you all.

I quit my job in Queens! During the summer, I had received a call about a job interview for a tutoring position in Brooklyn. I interviewed and I got the job. I will be working closer to home now and I am so thrilled!

To be honest, I don’t see this has starting over, but more of a rebirth or resurgence. I had worked at the school in Queens for almost three years and I felt it was time to leave on a good note.

But why leave?

I haid struggled this past school term. I had taken on a position that I wasn’t too thrilled about. I was stressed out and didn’t know what to do. Sometime around December thigs started to pan out, but I was met with co-worker drama and a supervisor who needed to put their foot down the issues that were plaguing the work environment.

Things were becoming rather toxic at the workplace and it became a strain just to come into work. I won’t go into specifics, but this place was not good for me. I am a person who likes to work in a quiet work space, but at times I was met with loud and obnoxious banter. People taking sides in the drama.

Basically, it was too much.

Another reason that influenced my decision to leave, was the fact that there was no accountability. A situation had occurred back in April, where a student at hit a member of the After School staff, and much to everyone’s dismay, the prinicpal had made the decision not to penalize the child. I remember thinking that day, what is this world coming to? What are we teaching our students? That is okay to hit an adult and there are no consequences to be had? That is not okay.

If I had to worry about coming to this school thinking that that could happen to me…I definitely didn’t need to be there.

What happened after the interview?

After the interview, I was gitty. I walked out of the school and sat on the steps. I called my boyfriend and the tears just started to flow. Now that I look back on the phone call, I don’t recall what I really said to him. I just bawled like crazy. I just let go of all the crap that I had been through over the course of the year. From taking on this new position to dealing with fake co workers- it was too much to bear. I remember him calming me down and telling me that everything was going to be okay.

I knew it was going to be okay. I was going to be okay. I had made a decision that I had been mulling over since before the last day of school. Since finding out that my job was no longer available in the school year, I really didn’t know what I was going to do. I didn’t want to be stuck in the office, answering phones. I was more comfortable tutoring.

I didn’t know what was there for me to do.

What now?

Now, the only thing for me to do is to move forward. I hope that this is the fresh start that I need. I am happy that I made the decision to leave. Like I told a friend of mine recently, You have to do what makes you happy. Even, if you decide to leave, make sure this is what you want to do. Leave for the right reasons. And know when the time is right to leave.

 

~S~

 

 

Leave a Reply

