30-Day No Soda Challenge

Hi guys!

This week I want to talk to you all about a challenge that I am a part of. The 30-Day Soda Free Challenge!

I am so pysched about this because I just completed my first week Saturday. So I have to give myself major props for making it through a whole week without drinking soda.

I also want to give a shout out to everyone who is competing in this challenge. You guys are awesome!

Before I go on, you might have questions as to why I began this challenge. 

Let me start by saying this…I wanted to make changes to what I was putting into my body. 

Anyone who knows me, knows that I always complain about how much I want to lose weight and excerise. But like I explained in a previous post, I procrasinate a lot. And I do mean A LOT!

Procrastinating aside, I made the conscious decision to give up on soda for a whole month. In the back of my mind, a recent doctor’s visit put things in perspective for me.

For years and I do mean years, I have always eat what I want. I didn’t care as long as I got my food. Whether it was Chinese takeout, or a popular pizza joint, I was in there. And guess what? Soda was always an option. Grape, orange Mountain Dew, pineapple soda, Dr. Pepper, Pepsi or Coco Cola…it became part of my weekly routine. 

Soda was and is a big part of my life. However, when the doctor informed me that I had weight 256 lbs. I cringed. I knew I was a heavy girl, but dayum! I never expected to weigh that much.

So after some thinking, I decided to give up on something that I loved. For me, soda was the first line of defense. 

Soda contains an extreme amount of chemicals and sugars. Diabetes was another reason why I wanted to give up on soda. It runs in my family and I didn’t want to risk getting it. 

Although I still struggle with eating better. I am happy to say that week one is complete, without any cravings. 

I hope that I continue to beat this challenge. And whoever is doing it out there, I hope you beat it too.

~S~

Leave a Reply

