Do you think you’re pretty? Qotd.

Have you ever been asked a question and you didn’t know how to answer it?

Well, that happened to me today.

Story:

I was talking a seventh grade student, who I’ll call “Tina.” Tina had mentioned to me about a situation that had been occurring for the past month and a half right before she comes to school. I had told her to inform her mother, because it was something that was causing her to stress out. At some point, we had strayed away from the topic and Tina had asked me if I thought I was pretty?

My response:

I smiled awkwardly, and responded with an unsure-able ‘yes.’ Tina immediately called me out on it. For a long time, I have struggled with my looks and how I was perceived by others. No matter how many times someone told me that I was attractive, I wouldn’t believe them. It felt like they were just telling me that to get something out of me. I mean most of the girls that I knew were attractive. (Light skinned women) So it was obvious that the boys were going to like them.

Some 12 years later, that was far from the truth. I find it hard to look and see what my boyfriend sees. I always thought I was too short and too dark for anyone to love me. However, that isn’t true.

As time goes by, I am slowly trying to learn to love myself and I enjoy the feeling. I have a lot of days where I feel low, but I have to keep reminding myself that I do have someone who loves and appreciates me. That’s all that matters.

~S~

 

 

Leave a Reply

